Anger

When did we get SO bitterly angry?

As most people know, I’m a fairly liberal guy. I’m also a pretty easy-going person, trying not to let too much get to me.

A few days ago, I came across an article about Dinesh D’Souza sharing a hotel room with a woman who was not his wife.  For those that don’t know, D’Souza is a hardcore conservative pundit whose social and political views I disagree with. When I came across the article I was ecstatic that someone whose opinions I vehemently disagree with was caught in his own hypocrisy. 

Then it dawned on me. Why am I so happy about this? I don’t know this dude personally, this happening won’t change the lives of me or anyone i know. And I’m sure this won’t really tarnish his reputation amongst his followers.

Maybe it’s because it’s an election year, but when did we get so angry about those we disagree with? Everything is “I’m right, you’re wrong” and there isn’t any discourse. Why isn’t there any objective discussion, thought or reasoning?

It used to be that you could disagree with someone and still get along with them, but now apparently you’re supposed to treat them like one of two things: an idiot, or your mortal enemy.

Now, I’m not some cultural anthropologist or political historian that has the ability to identify how and why this happened. It’s not as simple as pointing fingers at political leaders (Karl Rove), FUD-influenced media (Fox News), or ideologies (religion). Its also because of people who followed the aforementioned influencers.

We can allow outside influences to bully their way into changing the way we behave and communicate with each other. But what does that say about our own individuality? Isn’t it our ability for compassion that makes us human?

People have got to learn to relax. We’ve only got a little time ont his little blue dot, so why aren’t we making the most of it?

Next time you find yourself getting angry, take a breath. Step back and assess the situation. You might just realize its not worth it.

At the end of the day, aren’t there enough stresses in life that you don’t need to get upset by the things you can’t control?

Not a sermon, just a thought.

~ by joysonism on October 21, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
