Hater Brown Girl

So I was Youtubing Bollywood songs this fine evening (hold your mocking) and I came across something nearly perfect.

While many Bollywood videos and songs are catchy, energetic and colorful, sometimes you find the best things in random cutaway shots or in the backgrounds of the videos themselves.

So I was watching this song from the movie Bachna Ae Haseeno and I came across this image:

Hater on Right

 

Why is this image so perfect? The girl on the far right has a look on her face that is rarely captured in photographs or videos, but it is something that we have ALL experienced:

The Hater Brown Girl

You have met her at probably a variety of locations and in a multitude of scenarios. In school, at the store, at a bar, in the grocery store, at a wedding, in church, hanging out with your friends. You’re out, minding your own business, maybe meeting new people, having a good time, you look over and there is someone quietly judging you with disgust in their eyes.

I personally could have amassed a small fortune if I received a dollar for every time I received that look.

Most of the time, it’s a lot like the picture above. Everyone else is having a good time and she’s got a bug up her ass.

In my youth, this look may have bothered me, but nowadays, it’s one of my favorite things in the world. Not only does it encourage me to keep doing whatever I’m doing, but it makes me do it with more gusto. It also encourages me to make friends with the people around her who are genuinely having a good time.

Damn, I love this look.

~ by joysonism on September 16, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
