My Moms Ain’t Slick

Earlier today I went to my parents house and had some food, which included some coconut chutney (Chamanthi for all the Malus out there) and the following conversation took place:

Mom: You done? Want More?

Me: No, I’m good. Question– did you put anything different in the chutney? Something different than normal?

Mom: Nope, Just the regular ingredients I always make it with: coconut, salt, pepper, curry leaves, chili. Why?

Me: You sure? You’re not lying to me? You didn’t add ANYTHING different? Because I taste lemon in this and it is much lemonier than I’ve ever had it.

Mom: LEMON? NO THERE’S NO LEMON IN THAT!! You think I’m lying to you? What is wrong with you? I’m serious, there is something seriously wrong with your taste buds. Your sense of flavor is so messed up. You are wrong. Why are you bothering me with this?

Me: You sure? Because I taste lemon in there and I think you’re lying to cover yourself.

Mom: There is something wrong with your taste buds.

Me: Walks out of kitchen

(15 Minutes Later)

Me: Walks back into kitchen

Mom: I added a very little bit of lemon juice for the first time when I was making the chutney to kick up the flavor a little bit. How did you even taste that? There is something wrong with your taste buds. They are so sensitive.

Me: I KNEW IT!!! (does victory dance)

~ by joysonism on May 28, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
