Reason to Get Married

This may make me an ass, but the only reason I really want to get married is the wedding, specifically the making of the guest.

As some of you may know, Indian weddings can be gigantic affairs that have hundreds of guests. Most of the time, the people at the wedding aren’t even people that you want there, it becomes a political decision. Everyone is a “close family friend” and if we invite Person X, we have to invite Person Y. In the end, you’re inviting a bunch of people to satisfy your parents.

I want people at my wedding whose company that I genuinely enjoy and that I want to have a fun celebration with.

As such, and being the ass that I am, I look forward to one day sitting down with my parents and telling them who they CAN’T invite. I don’t mind being the bad guy and I’ll tell them that. However, it will be highly amusing to alienate brown people that I can’t stand in the first place.

Now, I’m nowhere close to making these decisions anytime soon, but its amusing to think about.

Besides, what did you think my reason for getting married was going to be? Love…Ha! You’re cute.

J.

~ by joysonism on November 7, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
