The Sports Identity

Its amazing the ways we create an identity for ourselves. I’m a guy, an Indian, a professional, a vegetarian, cilantro-hater. There are millions of ways we identify ourselves and how people identify us.

However, one thing I don’t want to have is a sports identity. I’m a Redskins fan, but I don’t want that to be a defining characteristic for me.

Now, there was a time that I followed everything Redskins related and I considered them a part of who I was. However, over the last couple of years, it feels like I grew out of it. Nowadays, I just watch the games on Sundays and I don’t even go out of my way to watch them.

I mean..I’ll root for them, but it feels like there are more interesting things in life. I used to tie my emotions to they way they played, and now..I just kind of feel bad for people who do that.

Funny thing is, I recently had a conversation about this exact topic and they started an argument with me for “giving up on the relationship” I have with the Redskins. A little perspective here, its a sports team, not my wife.

At the end of the day, I wish the Redskins well, but they’re not that big of a deal to me anymore.

~ by joysonism on November 27, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
